My first project

I have been playing around with a few furniture/up-cycled products for around 2 weeks. I have a few unfinished ones but I can finally say I have seen one through from start to finish!


I wondered into a charity shop and stumbled across an unloved and old fashioned looking chair. I am unsure of the year the chair was manufactured as the stamp unto the chair is warn away sadly.

However, I knew I wanted this for a project. I got the chair home; the cushion and fabric had seen better days, I then decided to tackle a little reupholstering as well. I have enjoyed up-cycling this item as it’s something different to a standard box that I have done before.

A hidden gem from a charity shop - needed some love
A hidden gem from a charity shop – needed some love

I removed the old materials and started on the wood. I got some 80 grit sand paper and took to taking off the varnish. Removing the varnish and wood stain it then created a key for the paint to stick to onto of the wood.

Removed old chair padding and old fabric. The whole chair with a sand over.
Removed old chair padding and old fabric. The whole chair with a sand over.
Varnish removed with sand paper to create a key for the paint
Varnish removed with sand paper to create a key for the paint

I then removed the middle panal, added a new peive of foam and wrapped fabric around to create a new cushion. I was so excited that I managed to do this, I forgot to photograph these steps. The material, I sourced from a fabric warehouse in the Northern Quater, Manchester. A gorgeous grey and cream floral fabric matched the paint perfectly.

I then added the paint, the first coat lighter and the second giving a better coverage. Mellow Mocha – my new fave.

The last step was the easiest, beeswax, to seal the wood and create a varnish.

2 x coat of satin wood paint , new cushion pad and jazzy fabric.
2 x coat of satin wood paint , new cushion pad and jazzy fabric.

And I am so happy with the final product!

FINISHED!
FINISHED!

If you also love this product you can find it on Etsy;

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/243691170/re-loved-re-upholstered-vintage-unique?utm_source=Pinterest&utm_medium=PageTools&utm_campaign=Share

Leave a Reply

