Card File Drawer Hack

I had seen some cute vintage card file drawers online, and I had to have them. I found them to be quite expensive; I knew I could make them for less money. I purchased these draws (see below) from my first Manchester car boot sale experience (that is another story entirely)! They are very similar to the drawers from Ikea named ‘Moppe’.

IMG_5253 2
Drawers – Simple and boring

IMG_5254

So I then got too it, I had some rough ides of what I wanted, but my main goal was to make the drawers look older and darker. I started with rounding the edges, I did this by heavily sanding them to create an edgy/aged effect. I also sanded over all the wood, to create a key for the wood stainer to stick too.

IMG_5256

I thought about painting the draws, and ‘shabby chic-ing’ them; but I wanted to try something different. I started to rub in and paint on wood stainer. I used teak wood stain and gave them 2 coats for a deeper shade. Applying wood stain, you must always go with the grain of the wood – this was a great lesson I learnt. After all the drawers were dry I rubbed over some Danish oil, creating a shinier look and sealing the wood to prevent water damage.

IMG_5258
Applying the first coat of wood stain

I purchased some brass plated draw pulls and loved how they already looked vintage, so I left them the way they were. The pulls looked silly with the D shaded figure cut outs on the draw, so I simply turned each draw around!!

Attaching the brass pulls was fiddly but once they were all in place it finally all came together.

thumb_SAM_0710_1024
Finally all put together

Finally I added paper to each slot which can be used for labelling and organisation and the drawers were complete.

I am pleasantly surprised with how authentic they look and have experimented with them in every room in my flat. They look great storing girly trinkets, knick-knacks or office supplies.

thumb_SAM_0716_1024
Trying out what knick-knacks I can get in the drawers
thumb_SAM_0714_1024
Finally found it place on my dresser

If you love them too; https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/244823703/vintage-card-file-drawers?ref=pr_shop

Leave a Reply

