Spring Clean

With spring just around and now passing over the March equinox I felt it only fitting to have a spring clean and brighten up the place.

As my boyfriend and I live in a rented flat the he bedroom felt tired due to the fact it probably hadn’t been painted since it had been built.

Here is a before shot of the bedroom;Version 2

I love the bedding and large cushions we bought when we moved in (from Next) but it was time for a change.

IMG_6918

So we got our painting gear on; or lack of it and set too it! 2 coats of brilliant white and the room felt fresh, clean and new again. The white makes the room brighter and feel bigger. White is also a great background colour for a room with many accessories that are changing for the seasons.

The season change fit perfectly with what I wanted to do; improve the lamps, add a bit of colour and have a fresh new feel. Oh, and obviously add in some copper accessories!

bedroom

Above is the finished product. I found a new love for H & M home with their gorgeous, brightly coloured, geometric cushions. So I got all 3 from there. I changed the bedding to plain hotel white to make it fresh. My favourite part of my room now is the details; the matching lamps (Next) are simple and grey, matching the cushions and our curtains. The copper terrarium and candle holder brings the copper tones into the room creating a warm atmosphere to the space. Adding a mint green candle also ties in with the mint green cushions.

Looking at the before and after shots of the bedroom it is clear how crisp and contemporary the space now feels. I would highly recommend a spring clean or revamp of your own to make not only your room look brighter, happier and healthy; but your mind too!

Leave a Reply

