Baking Disasters

I have never been into baking and I placed ‘Bake a cake’ on my bucket list. I know you all are shocked that I have NEVER baked a cake, but I haven’t, until now. I consider myself a decent cook and assumed baking wouldn’t be much harder. How I was wrong.

I wanted to bake my boyfriend a cake for his birthday but I also fancied making some delicious cupcakes I had seen online. So I tried to bake both in the space of 2 days. Beginning with a practice run, cupcakes, before the main event…the cake!

I collected all my ingredients for my vanilla cupcakes and got too it. It all felt surprisingly easy measuring, adding and mixing. I placed my cute little muffin cases in the oven with equal amount of mixture in each and sat on the sofa relaxing for 15 minutes. As the gorgeous smell of baking filled the flat I couldn’t wait to get them out. Except my little cute cupcakes had exploded, erupting out of the casing and all over the tray. What a mess.

IMG_7329

I didn’t even think it was possible to have no mixture left in the cases, and the mixture abandoning ship, evacuating and all over the baking tray.

IMG_7328

I tasted the mixture that was on the tray, but wow it was gross. Sour. Bitter. After washing it down, I wondered ‘how could I have gone wrong?’.

I followed this Vanilla Cupcake recipe;

IMG_7330

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup raw cane sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup milk + 1/2 teaspoon vinegar

As it was in ‘cups’, very american, I was already converting all the measurements. However due to my dyslexia (I guess I’ll blame it on that), I read TEASPOONS of baking powder as CUPS! How is that possible? Not baking in my life meant I didn’t find it odd that I was placing 1 and a quarter cup of baking powder to my mix was at all weird.


The following day I had a positive mind set and got a Chocolate Cake recipe from my Auntie, who’s cakes are amazing;

  • 3 eggs
  • 6 oz caster sugar
  • 5 oz self raising flour
  • 1 oz cocoa powder
  • 6 oz butter

Music on and away I went. Splitting the mixture between cake tins and placing in the oven. I removed the 2 tins after 15 minutes and the sponge was bouncy and smelt divine.

I unclipped the pop out tin and out came a pancake….

IMG_7331

I was fuming. All my effort and that was the result. I thought ‘whats a birthday with out cake?’ ‘I have promised him a cake!’ So I just got creative, I used the 2 pancakes and lid off something and used it like a biscuit cutter.

IMG_7332

I didn’t want to waste the butter cream so I sandwiched two pieces together to create mini cake buns!

IMG_7340

I guess in the end not all was lost as the cake mixture taste great and I still had something to show for my effort. Next time, if there ever is a next time, I don’t even know what I’ll do… I may just stick to cooking!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

